The Vernons have been practicing Architects in London since 1906.
George Vernon was a prominent West End Architect designing buildings such as 60 Portland Place, Minerva House, Chennies St. and St. James’ St. He died in 1942.
His nephew, Austin Vernon practiced independently from 1910 and designed several notable buildings around Fitzrovia, including Cleveland House and Schmidts Restaurant in Charlotte Street, before becoming the Architect to the Dulwich Estate in 1936. This established the Vernon’s connection with Dulwich.
Russell Vernon became a partner in Austin Vernon and Partners in 1948 joining his uncle to undertake war damage work, including rebuilding the Dulwich Picture Gallery, and to evolve the Dulwich Estate Plan which he subsequently spent 30 years implementing. Russell succeeded Austin as The Dulwich Estate Architect in 1959. The Practice designed about 2000 houses around Dulwich as well as numerous buildings at Dulwich College and Alleyn’s school. Some of this work is set out in a new book ‘Dulwich Homes a Mid- Century Oasis’ showcasing the work of Austin Vernon in Partners for the Dulwich Estate in the 1960s which will be published shortly.
Philip Vernon was an Architect working on large scale retail, offices and residential projects specialising in historic buildings and Conservation Area work. Prior to that he was a Partner at Paul Davis & Partners acting as the Masterplanner and Design Architect for the redevelopment by Cadogan Estate of the 8 acre Territorial Army Headquarters on the Kings Road, Chelsea, now known as Duke of York’s Square.